Top Banner
For People Who Love Books

Bottom Banner

A reference for Used and Rare Books, Periodicals, and Paper Ephemera courtesy of an International Co-Op of Independent Dealers.
Norah Lofts
Norah Robinson Lofts (1904 - 1983) (aka Juliet Astley and Peter Curtis)
Norah Lofts was a prolific British author who wrote not only historical romances for over 50 years, but also nonfiction and biographies. She was best known for her historical novels, many of which were set in the nineteenth century or had English history as backgrounds, though other nations and eras--including Biblical times--were represented in her writings. Her novels are well known not only for their historical accuracy, but for her vigorous style of storytelling and her sense of history and her capacity to transmit the fascination of the past.
Lofts novels have a strong sense of time and place. Many of her historical romances are set in Suffolk, England and many of them are set around houses. Both landscape and houses have a permanency which their occupants lack, although the occupants may leave impressions. The 'Suffolk Trilogy' (The Town House, The House at Old Vine, and The House at Sunset) spans 600 years in the history of a house, from its beginnings as the home of a medieval wool-merchant to the present day, and Bless This House tells the story of the fortunes of a beautiful Elizabethan house in Suffolk in eight episodes, each narrated by a different character who plays a part in its history.
Lofts also published several thrillers under the pseudonym Peter Curtis and the pseudonym Juliet Astley.
Nora Lofts won an American Booksellers Association award for her first work, I Met a Gypsy(1935), and a Georgette Heyer Award for The Day of the Butterfly (1979).
Books by Norah Lofts
◊;Here Was a Man: A Romantic History of Sir Walter Raleigh (1936)
◊White Hell of Pity (1937)
◊Requiem for Idols (1938)
◊Out of This Nettle, London (1938); published as Colin Lowrie New York (1939)
◊Blossom Like the Rose (1939)
◊Hester Roon (1940)
◊The Road to Revelation (1941)
◊The Brittle Glass (1942)
◊Michael and All Angels, London (1943); published as The Golden Fleece New York (1944)
◊Jassy (1944)
◊To See a Fine Lady (1946)
◊Silver Nutmeg (1947)
◊A Calf for Venus (1949); published as Letty (1968)
◊Esther (1950)
◊The Lute Player (1951)
◊Bless This House (1954)
◊Winter Harvest (1955)
◊Queen in Waiting (1955); as Eleanor the Queen (1955)
◊Afternoon of an Autocrat (1956); published as The Deadly Gift (1967); published as The Devil in Clevely (1968)
◊Scent of Cloves (1957)
◊The Suffolk Trilogy:The Town House (1959); The House at Old Vine (1961); The House at Sunset (1962)
◊The Concubine: A Novel Based Upon the Life of Anne Boleyn (1963)
◊How Far to Bethlehem? (1965)
◊The Lost Ones, London (1969); as The Lost Queen, New York (1969)
◊Madselin (1969)
◊The King's Pleasure (1969)
◊Lovers All Untrue (1970)
◊A Rose for Virtue: The Very Private Life of Hortense (1971)
◊Charlotte, London (1972); as Out of the Dark, New York (1972)
◊Nethergate (1973)
◊Crown of Aloes (1974)
◊Checkmate (1975)
◊Walk into My Parlour (1975)
◊Trilogy: Knight's Acre (1975);The Homecoming (1975); The Lonely Furrow (1976)
◊Gad's Hall (1977)
◊Haunted House, London (1978); as The Haunting of Gad's Hall, New York (1979)
◊The Day of the Butterfly (1979)
◊A Wayside Tavern (1980)
◊The Claw (1981)
◊The Old Priory (1981)
◊Pargeters (1984)
◊I Met a Gypsy (1935)
◊Heaven in Your Hand and Other Stories (1958)
◊Is There Anybody There? London (1974); as Hauntings: Is There Anybody There? New York (1975)
◊Saving Face and Other Stories (1983)
◊Women in the Old Testament: Twenty Psychological Portraits (1949)
◊Eternal France: A History of France, 1789-1944, with Margery Weiner (1968)
◊The Story of Maude Reed (for children), London (1971); as The Maude Reed Tale, New York (1972)
◊Rupert Hatton's Tale (for children), London (1972); as Rupert Hatton's Story New York (1973) (Junior Literary Guild selection)
◊Domestic Life in England (1976)
◊Queens of Britain, London (1977); as Queens of England New York (1977)
◊Emma Hamilton (1978)
◊Anne Boleyn (1979)
Novels Published under the Pseudonym JULIET ASTLEY:
◊The Fall of Midas (1975)
◊Copsi Castle (1978)
Novels Published under the Pseudonym PETER CURTIS:
◊Dead March in Three Keys London (1940); as No Question of Murder" New York (1959); as Bride of Moat House by Norah Lofts, New York (1975)
◊You're Best Alone (1943); published with Requiem for Idols, in Two by Norah Lofts (1981)
◊Lady Living Alone (1945)
◊The Devil's Own, London (1960); as The Witches London (1966); as The Little Wax Doll New York (1970)
This content has been provided by
Hollis G. Bedell, HGBooks & Bindery.
Send EMail
EMail Us

If you use GMAIL, OUTLOOK, or other e-mail clients that are now using 2FA (2-factor authentication), be sure that you have implemented that feature - otherwise you may not receive replies that we send to you.
Back to Top of Page
Top of Page
Made with Bluefish