Home Independent Dealers
For those who care about books!  
 Other Areas
Advanced Search
Browse Book Categories
Antiques Collectibles
Browse by Dealer
Author Autographs
Author Awards
Author Biographies
Author Pseudonyms
Collecting Information
Glossary of Terms
Helpful Sites
Publisher Information
Customer Account
Account Log-out
Contact Us
About TomFolio
For Bookdealers
Code of Ethics
Secure Shopping
Privacy Statement
Legal Information
Become a Member
Members Only

 Search Items
By Author:

By Title:

By Keywords:


Advanced Search
Author Search Results

Items available using the following search information: 
 (Total items found: 0)
    Author: Ian Rankin

Information about this author from .
   Scottish born Ian Rankin is the number one best selling crime writer in the U.K. Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, he began his writing career while a student at the University of Edinburgh, from which he graduated in 1983. His first novel, The Flood, was based on his childhood, and was published in 1986 while Mr. Rankin was pursuing his post-graduate studies. This book is highly collectable in Fine condition as it had a very small print run from the publisher, Polygon; which was itself a small independent publishing house owned by the Edinburgh University Students' Association. After graduating from University, Mr. Rankin worked as grape-picker, swineherd, taxman, alcohol researcher, hi-fi journalist and punk musician. Mr. Rankin is best known as the author of the Inspector John Rebus detective novels, although he has also written suspense novels under his own name and under the pseudonym of Jack Harvey. The first of the Rebus series, Knots & Crosses, was published in 1987. The Rebus series is set in Edinburgh, but the Edinburgh that few tourists would ever see. As Mr. Rankin states, ‘Edinburgh is the perfect setting for crime writing. It has a split personality - on the one hand it is the city of history and museums and royalty, but at the same time there is this feeling that behind the thick walls of those Georgian townhouses there are all sorts of terrible things happening.’ There are, as of March 2004, 15 books (plus one novella) in the Rebus series, and they have now been translated into 22 languages. Mr. Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is a past winner of the prestigious Chandler-Fulbright Award, as well two CWA short-story 'Daggers' and the 1997 CWA Macallan Gold Dagger for Fiction for Black & Blue. Dead Souls, the tenth novel in the series, was shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger in 1999. Mr. Rankin was awarded the OBE in the Queen's Golden Jubilee Birthday Honours List in June. Ian Rankin currently lives in Edinburgh (after a brief sojourn to the Dordogne area of France) with his wife and two sons.

Your search returned no results.

Search again, searching all items in our database.
 Tight Match  Loose Match Browse by Categories
Keywords ISBN Number                  Search Help
First Edition Signed
Prices between: (USD)
Added Past 24 Hours
Results in 0rder By:

Home   Contact Us   Bookdealers   Browse Books   Detailed Search   Antiques Collectibles   Privacy Statement   Shopping Cart

Copyright © 2000 - 2016 TomFolio is a registered
trademark of ABookCoOp, Inc. All rights reserved. Legal Information.