Home Independent Dealers
For those who care about books!  
 Author Information
Author Bios
Collect Autographs
Pseudos, AKA's

View Autographs
> All Available
> By Last Initial
> Search Autographs

 Search Items
By Author:

By Title:

By Keywords:


Advanced Search
Sample Autograph Signature: John McPhee

American pioneer in narrative nonfiction. John Angus McPhee (1931 - )is an American writer of narrative nonfiction. Born in 1931 in Princeton, New Jersey; educated at Princeton and Cambridge, he teaches nonfiction writing at Princeton. He has been a staff writer at The New Yorker for over 40 years and many of his books are collections or expansions of pieces that first appeared there. He has been classified, along with Hunter Thompson and Tom Wolfe, as a practitioner of the "New Journalism", but he is neither as bombastic as the former nor as acerbic as the latter. The range of subject matter over 31 books (the latest one appearing in 2006) is astonishing. His first book, "A Sense of Where You Are", is a portrait of Bill Bradley as a college student who, mused McPhee, might make a fine Governor of Missouri someday. His "Encounters With the Archdruid" presented an incredibly even-handed narrative of discussions between David Brower, the head of the Sierra Club at the time, and three of his natural enemies. "Coming Into the Country" has been called the best book on modern Alaska. "Oranges" . . . Is about oranges, and fascinating. So is "The Survival of the Bark Canoe" which profiles a modern craftsman who builds them. "Annals of the Former World" collects several of his works on geology and geologists and was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 1999. A fine sampling of his early work was collected in "The John McPhee Reader". BIBLIOGRAPHY: The Headmaster (1966 Oranges (1967) The Pine Barrens (1968) A Roomful of Hovings and Other Profiles (1969) Levels of the Game (1969) The Crofter and the Laird (1969) Encounters With the Archdruid (1972) The Deltoid Pumpkin Seed (1973) The Curve of Binding Energy (1974) Pieces of the Frame (1975) The Survival of the Bark Canoe (1975) The John McPhee Reader (1977) Coming Into the Country (1977) Giving Good Weight (1979) Basin and Range (1981) In Suspect Terrain (1983) La Place de la Concorde Suisse (1984) Table of Contents (collection, 1985) Rising from the Plains (1986) Heirs of General Practice (1986) The Control of Nature (1989) Looking for a Ship (1990) Assembling California (1993) The Ransom of Russian Art (1994) The Second John McPhee Reader (1996) Irons in the Fire (1997) Annals of the Former World (1998) The Founding Fish (2002) The American Shad: Selections from the Founding Fish (2004) Uncommon Carriers (2006) (Content provided by Gallagher Books)

Find available listings by: John McPhee

Author: John McPhee

Use the links below to find more authors by last name, first initial.
  A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   Y   Z  

For detailed information about collecting the autographs of authors click here.

Home   Contact Us   Bookdealers   Browse Books   Detailed Search   Antiques Collectibles   Privacy Statement   Shopping Cart

Copyright © 2000 - 2016 TomFolio is a registered
trademark of ABookCoOp, Inc. All rights reserved. Legal Information.