Home Independent Dealers
For those who care about books!  
 Author Information
Author Bios
Collect Autographs
Pseudos, AKA's

Author Awards
> Childrens
> Fiction/Literature
> Pulitzer Prize
> Romance
> Scifi/Fantasy

 Search Items
By Author:

By Title:

By Keywords:


Advanced Search
Information on Authors

LAURIE LEE (1914-1997) - English poet and author
Laurie Lee is best known for his autobiographical trilogy (Cider with Rosie, As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning, and, A Moment of War) which depicts Lee's boyhood in the rural Cotswold countryside, his journey to London to seek his fortune and see the world, and his experiences in the Spanish Civil War.

Lee was born in Stroud, Gloucestershire and educated locally. At 19 he moved to London where he worked as a laborer, and then traveled in Spain in the mid-1930s. During the Second World War he worked as a film script writer and editor of documentary films for the General Post Office and the Ministry of Information. During the 1940s and 1950s he published several volumes of poetry, but he achieved little recognition until Cider with Rosie (published in the U.S. as The Edge of Day). This autobiographical memoir of his boyhood in the Cotswold countryside became an instant classic and was widely read in British schools.

Laurie Lee also wrote travel books, essays, a radio play, short stories. He received several awards, including the Atlantic Award (1944), Society of Authors traveling award (1951), M.B.E. (Member, Order of the British Empire), William Foyle Poetry Prize (1956), W.H. Smith and Son Award (1960). Lee died on May 14, 1997.
Find available items by: Laurie Lee
Books by Laurie Lee
  • Land at War (1945)
  • An Obstinate Exile (1951)
  • A Rose for Winter: Travels in Andalusia (1955)
  • Man Must Move: The Story of Transport (with David Lambert) 1960 ; published in the U.S. as The Wonderful World of Transportation, (1960) for children
  • The Firstborn (1964) an essay on childhood
  • I Can't Stay Long (1975)
  • Innocence in the Mirror (1978)
  • Two Women (1983)
Autobiographical Trilogy
  • Cider with Rosie (1959); published in the U.S. as The Edge of Day(1960)
  • As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning (1969)
  • A Moment of War (1991)
  • The Sun My Monument (1944)
  • The Bloom of Candles: Verse from a Poet's Year (1947)
  • My Many-Coated Man (1955)
  • Poems (1960)
  • Selected Poems (1983)
  • Laurie Lee Reading His Own Poems (1960)
  • The Voyage of Magellan: A Dramatic Chronicle for Radio (broadcast, 1946; published 1948)
  • Peasants' Priest (1947)
  • Cyprus Is an Island (1946)
  • A Tale in a Teacup (1947)
Radio Play
  • The Voyage of Magellan (1946)

This content has been provided by HGBooks.

Home   Contact Us   Bookdealers   Browse Books   Detailed Search   Antiques Collectibles   Privacy Statement   Shopping Cart

Copyright © 2000 - 2016 TomFolio is a registered
trademark of ABookCoOp, Inc. All rights reserved. Legal Information.