Home Independent Dealers
For those who care about books!  
 Author Information
Author Bios
Collect Autographs
Pseudos, AKA's

Author Awards
> Childrens
> Fiction/Literature
> Pulitzer Prize
> Romance
> Scifi/Fantasy

 Search Items
By Author:

By Title:

By Keywords:


Advanced Search
Information on Authors

Ian Rankin

Scottish born Ian Rankin is the number one best selling crime writer in the U.K. Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, he began his writing career while a student at the University of Edinburgh, from which he graduated in 1983. His first novel, The Flood, was based on his childhood, and was published in 1986 while Mr. Rankin was pursuing his post-graduate studies. This book is highly collectable in Fine condition as it had a very small print run from the publisher, Polygon; which was itself a small independent publishing house owned by the Edinburgh University Students' Association. After graduating from University, Mr. Rankin worked as grape-picker, swineherd, taxman, alcohol researcher, hi-fi journalist and punk musician.

Mr. Rankin is best known as the author of the Inspector John Rebus detective novels, although he has also written suspense novels under his own name and under the pseudonym of Jack Harvey. The first of the Rebus series, Knots & Crosses, was published in 1987. The Rebus series is set in Edinburgh, but the Edinburgh that few tourists would ever see. As Mr. Rankin states, ‘Edinburgh is the perfect setting for crime writing. It has a split personality - on the one hand it is the city of history and museums and royalty, but at the same time there is this feeling that behind the thick walls of those Georgian townhouses there are all sorts of terrible things happening.’

There are, as of March 2004, 15 books (plus one novella) in the Rebus series, and they have now been translated into 22 languages. Mr. Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is a past winner of the prestigious Chandler-Fulbright Award, as well two CWA short-story 'Daggers' and the 1997 CWA Macallan Gold Dagger for Fiction for Black & Blue. Dead Souls, the tenth novel in the series, was shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger in 1999. Mr. Rankin was awarded the OBE in the Queen's Golden Jubilee Birthday Honours List in June. Ian Rankin currently lives in Edinburgh (after a brief sojourn to the Dordogne area of France) with his wife and two sons.
Find available items by: Ian Rankin
Ian Rankin: Inspector Rebus Series
  • Knots And Crosses (1987)
  • Hide And Seek (1991)
  • A Good Hanging: And Other Stories (1992)
  • Tooth And Nail (1992) (Originally published as Wolfman)
  • Strip Jack (1992)
  • The Black Book (1993)
  • Mortal Causes (1994)
  • Let It Bleed (1996)
  • Black And Blue (1997)
  • The Hanging Garden (1998)
  • Death Is Not the End (novella) (1998)
  • Dead Souls (1999)
  • Rebus: The Early Years (omnibus) (1999)
  • Set in Darkness (2000)
  • The Falls (2001)
  • Rebus: The St Leonard's Years (omnibus) (2001)
  • Rebus: Three Great Novels: Strip Jack / The Black Book/Mortal Causes (omnibus) (2001)
  • Resurrection Men (2002)
  • A Question of Blood (2003)
  • Rebus: The Lost Years (omnibus) (2003)
  • Rebus: Capital Crimes (omnibus) (2004)
  • Fleshmarket Close (due Sept. 27, 2004)
Ian Rankin: Jack Harvey Novels (writing as Jack Harvey)
  • Witch Hunt (1993)
  • Bleeding Hearts (1994)
  • Blood Hunt (1995)
  • The Jack Harvey Novels (omnibus) (2000)
Ian Rankin: Novels
  • The Flood (1986)
  • Watchman (1988)
  • Westwind (1990)
Ian Rankin: Collections
  • Herbert in Motion: And Other Stories (1997)
  • Beggars Banquet (2002)
Ian Rankin: Non-Fiction
  • Rebus' Scotland> (photographs) (August 1, 2004)

Content provided by: Horizon West Books.

Home   Contact Us   Bookdealers   Browse Books   Detailed Search   Antiques Collectibles   Privacy Statement   Shopping Cart

Copyright © 2000 - 2016 TomFolio is a registered
trademark of ABookCoOp, Inc. All rights reserved. Legal Information.